Types of Jujitsu

Have a jitsu related question? Get a jitsu related answer here.

Moderator: Moderators

Types of Jujitsu

Postby Slartibartfast » Mon Feb 11, 2008 5:01 pm | #1

I apologise in advance if I am asking a question that has already been laboured over time and time again, however I am a newbie and it is a newbies job, nay DUTY to make these mistakes. How else will I learn?

I study Jujitsu under the WJJF syllabus and love it. Seriously love it. I go three times a week and would go more often were it more convenient for me to do so. I recently achieved my green belt (I hear a lot of people snidely commenting that no-one fails a WJJF grading. I assure you, you come of the tatami KNOWING that you earned your belt. Maybe the sensei just doesn't put you in if you are not ready. It's expensive enough without having to pay for a re-grade.)

I hear about all these different forms of Jujitsu and was wondering where WJJF jujitsu fell. The books and senseis all say that it doesn't fall under a particular form, in fact it tries to avoid this entirely by being an holistic art which is just jujitsu in and of itself.

Does anyone have an opinion/explanation that contrasts with this?

Any other WJJF people out there have any contribution?
Slartibartfast None specified

Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership

Postby ToffeeApple » Mon Feb 11, 2008 6:03 pm | #2

Ask onedragons. Most of us are from a rather different background and the only personal experience I've had with an advanced student of wjjf was terrible.
Postmodernism has a lot going for it on the internet.  Â¿Por qué no te callas?
ToffeeApple Male
Citizen

Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership